About us | Contact us | 中文 | 日本語
Location: English -> World -> 
Singapore to enter phase two of re-opening with more activities resumed
BY 2020-06-16 13:50:08

SINGAPORE, June 15 (Xinhua) -- Singapore's Multi-Ministry Taskforce has decided to start phase two of re-opening after 11:59 p.m. June 18, when most activities, apart from a small list of exceptions, will be resumed.

The Ministry of Health (MOH) announced in a press release on Monday evening that subject to some safe distancing principles, retail businesses might re-open their physical outlets in the new phase, while food and beverage dine-in would be allowed, personal health and wellness and home-based services would be resumed, and sports, parks and other public facilities would open.

Meanwhile, businesses in the permitted list published by the Ministry of Trade and Industry would not need to apply for an exemption before resuming operations in the new phase, said the MOH.

"Phase two is a significant step in moving towards a new COVID-safe normal," said the ministry. "The Multi-Ministry Taskforce will continue to monitor the situation closely, with the aim of continuing to ease measures, until we reach a new normal in Phase Three."

Singapore exited COVID-19 Circuit Breaker measures and began to resume banned activities in three phases starting from June 2. The phase one, which the city-state is in currently, sees only economic activities that do not pose high risk of transmission be resumed.

The MOH also announced on Monday evening that Singapore would update its border measures, according to another press release.

Firstly, a testing regime will apply to all travelers entering Singapore from 11:59 p.m. June 17.

Secondly, all travelers entering Singapore from 11:59 p.m. June 17, and who had remained in Australia, Brunei, China's Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Japan, China's Macao Special Administrative Region, Chinese mainland, New Zealand, South Korea, China's Taiwan and Vietnam in the last consecutive 14 days prior to their entry, will no longer have to serve their 14-day Stay-Home Notice (SHN) at dedicated SHN facilities.

Thirdly, all inbound and outbound travelers who enter Singapore from 11:59 p.m. June 17, and leave Singapore from 11:59 p.m. June 17, respectively, will be required to pay for their COVID-19 tests, where applicable.

In addition, incoming travelers who are not Singapore citizens or permanent residents, who enter Singapore from 11:59 p.m. June 17, will be required to pay for their stay at dedicated SHN facilities, where applicable. 

(Editor:Grace) (From:xinhua)
Related Articles
Copyright © Runsky.com. All rights reserved. 2019